Sign In
Performance Handicap Racing Fleet San Diego
2018 Competition Protocols Appendix 1

2018 Race Calendar
2018-01-13Cabrillo I1,2,3,4,5,8SWYCDistance
2018-02-03Cabrillo II1,2,3,4,5,8SWYCDistance
2018-02-17SCYA Midwinter1,2,3,4,5,8SWYCBuoy
2018-03-03Cabrillo III1,2,3,4,5,8SWYCDistance
2018-03-24Cabrillo IV1,2,3,4,5,8SWYCDistance
2018-04-07Quicker / Tarantino Invitational (TBD)2,3,4,5,6,7,8NYCSDBuoy
2018-04-21Gerry Browne Regatta1,2,3,4,5,8CRABuoy
2018-05-26Butler Invitational MB to Oceanside1,2,3,4,5,8MBYCDistance
2018-05-27Oceanside to San Diego1,2,3,4,5,8OYCDistance
2018-06-09CRA Summer Regatta1,2,3,4,5,8CRABuoy
2018-07-07Arden Series2,3,4,5,8SWYCBuoy
2018-08-11Crown Cup2,3,4,5,8CYCBuoy
2018-09-15Dennis Connor Around the Coronado’s1,2,3,4,5,8CRADistance
2018-10-05SD-Ensenada International Yacht Race1,2,3,4,5,8SWYCDistance

Eligibility requirement: 51% race participation rounded up.
If a boat is within 6 seconds of a Class Break or if their Performance Factor is within 10% (0.4) of the current cutoff that places boats into Class 2 (sport boats), the owner may request to change to the next lower or higher class. This can be done only once in a calendar year or once for the upcoming or current Yearly Class Championship Series. The Board will agree or not.
The method of calculating Sail Area was changed starting in 2017 which affected the Performance Factor calculation. PF for PHRF San Diego is now different from PHRF SoCal.
PF Formula = ((0.67*LWL)+(0.34*LOA))*(SA/DISP)
OLD Formula: SA = (((J*I)/2)*1.55)+((P*E)/2)
NEW Formula: SA = ((I*(LP*0.01))*0.52)+((ISP*SPL)*0.66)+(P*E)/2
LP = 155% J or 105% J for boats only able to fly non overlapping headsail.
Class 1
Random Leg Rating (RLC) of -999 to 0
Class 2
Random Leg Rating of (RLC) +1 through +75, where PF is greater than or equal to 4.0
Class 3
Random Leg Rating (RLC) of +1 through +75 with PF less than 4.0.
Random Leg Rating (RLC) of +76 through +89.
Random Leg Rating (RLC) of +90 through +137 with LOA 42 feet or greater with PF less than 4.0.
Class 4
Random Leg Rating of (RLC) +90 through +137 plus LOA < 42 feet
Class 5
Random Leg Rating (RLC) of +138 to +999
Class 6
Non-Spin - All Ratings
Class 8
Multihull racers
PHRF San Diego • P.O. Box 6748 • San Diego, CA 92166
©2018 Christopher Bennett PHRF Home